Past Student Spotlights

Spring 2017

GMB NRSA and NSF Fellowship Awardees

Congratulations to all of the current GMB students who have received NSF or NIH NRSA individual predoctoral fellowships!

From left to right: Alyse Steves (NSF), Sara Fielder (NRSA), Chris Rounds (NRSA, perfect score!), Annie McPherson (NRSA), Crystal Grant (NSF), Shannon Torres (NRSA), Brittany Phillips (NRSA).

Not pictured are Josh Bell (NRSA), Alyx Buonanotte (NRSA), and Jasmine Moody (NSF)

Fall 2015

Shannon Torres

Congratulations to Shannon Torres, who was recognized as GMB Scholar of the Year at the GDBBS Awards Banquet held in Fall 2015.

Spring 2015

Alyse Steves

The Laney Graduate School (LGS) and the Graduate Division of Biological and Biomedical Sciences (GDBBS) wish to congratulate first year GMB student, Alyse Steves, on receiving an NSF Graduate Fellowship, entitled "Prdm1 represses somatic cell gene expression in primordial germ cells through ERK signaling inhibition". She wrote this application entirely independently based on her own idea regarding stem cells, for which she has a keen general interest. It was not based on a lab rotation or any faculty's research on campus. She received strong support and some suggestions from GMB’s director, Bill Kelly, and also from her undergraduate thesis advisor, Martin Hudson. She also attended two NSF GRFP grant-writing workshops offered by Emory. NSF awards are very competitive and she had to compete with students from all the sciences, not just biology. Congratulations, Alyse!!

Please click here to read more about Emory's NIH predoctoral fellowhsips in the Emory News Center.