National Academy of Medicine elects leaders in cancer and infectious disease

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM), formerly the Institute of Medicine, has elected Otis W. Brawley, MD, and Keith P. Klugman, MD, PhD, to its new class of 70 new members and 10 international members.

Brawley, who is chief medical officer for the American Cancer Society, is professor of hematology, medical oncology, and medicine In Emory University School of Medicine and the Winship Cancer Institute, and professor of epidemiology in Emory’s Rollins School of Public Health.

Klugman is director of pneumonia programs for the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation; emeritus William H. Foege Professor of Global Health in Emory’s Rollins School of Public Health; and honorary professor, University of the Witwatersrand Respiratory and Meningeal Pathogens Research Unit, Johannesburg, South Africa. He is also a faculty member in the PBEE program.

Membership in the NAM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine, recognizing individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievements and commitment to service. Current active members elect new members from among candidates nominated for their accomplishments and contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.

Click here to view the full story in the Emory News Center.